List of all ICC Cricket World Cup Finals

Australia won the World Cup five times
Australia won the World Cup five times

Cricket is one of the most exciting games in the world. Here, the match and situation can change any moment and any time. Naturally, fans are crazy about this game and they anticipate four years for the world cup to occur. The World Cup crowns new Champions and the team which wins the tournament, gets love and awards from across the world. Here is the list of all the finals of the ICC World Cup that has taken place.

1975- West Indies vs Australia, Winner- West Indies

It was the first ever World Cup which took place in cricket. The matches were comprised of 60 overs a side. West Indies and Australia displayed a scintillating performance throughout the tournament and thus qualified for the finals. West Indies batted first and scored 291 in 60 overs. Clive Llyod 102 runs from just 85 deliveries. In response, Australia could manage only 274 all out under 59 overs. Keith Boyce of West Indies picked up 4 wickets and thus helped the team to secure a victory. West Indies won the first ever World Cup in cricket in a very handsome fashion.

1979- West Indies vs England, Winner- West Indies

West Indies were the dominant side throughout the tournament. It was not a surprise for anyone to see them advance into the finals. England too pulled some amazing performances and secured their place in the finals. England won the toss and chose to field first. West Indies had a poor start, but ended up scoring 286 runs in 60 overs. England got to a good but a slow start. Later wickets kept falling at regular intervals and the required run-rate had gone very high. West Indian bowlers bundled England for 194 runs. J Garner took 5 wickets and Sir Viv Richards became the man of the match.

1983- India vs West Indies, Winner- India

It was the third time West Indies reached the finals of the world cup. Fans across the world were sure that the reigning champions were about to become the first ever team to make a hat-trick in winning the world cup. However, things happened differently that day.

India was given to bat first and they failed miserably. India could manage a total of 183 runs. However, the bowlers were fabulous and turned the game around for India. Madan Lal and Amarnath took 3 wickets each and the entire bowling unit bowled outstandingly well. West Indies were all out for 140 runs. India became the second team ever to win a cricket world cup.

1987- Australia vs England, Winner- Australia

This was the first world cup, where the matches had 50 overs per side. Beating all the odds, England and Australia managed to reach the finals. Australia started slowly and could manage just 253 runs. They scored 65 runs in the last 6 overs. In response, England gave an excellent fight and at one point seemed they would win easily. However, regular loss of wickets costed them badly and they lost the match by just 7 runs. Australia won the world cup for the first time.

1992- Pakistan vs England, Winner- Pakistan

It was Pakistan's maiden appearance in a world cup final. It was also Imran Khan's (Pakistan captain) last ODI appearance. Pakistan batted first and posted a total of 249/6. Imran Khan and Javed Miandad scored half centuries each. They could only hit one six in the entire innings.

England had a poor start and was 69/4 at one stage. However, Fairbrother tried to accelerate the scorecard and scored 62 runs. But, it wasn't enough as England ended up short of 22 runs. Pakistan secured a massive victory and lifted the trophy for the only time till date.

1996- Sri Lanka vs Australia, Winner- Sri Lanka

It was a highly competitive tournament as all the teams gave each other a neck to neck competition. However, the two teams which reached the finals were Sri Lanka and Australia. Sri Lanka decided to field after winning the toss. Australia posted a total of 242. Only Mark Taylor played some good shots and scored 74 runs.

Sri Lankan batsmen looked more determined than ever before. Their middle order batmen played fantastic cricket and Aravind de Silva scored a century in that match. It helped them clinch a easy victory over Australia and won the World Cup for the very first time.

1999- Australia vs Pakistan, Winner- Australia

It was a chance for both Pakistan and Australia to win the World cup for the second time as both the teams faced off each other in the finals. However, it became a one sided match as Australian bowlers wrapped Pakistan for just 132 runs. Shane Warne took 4 wickets.

Pakistan had very little to do with such a low total on their hands. Australia won the match easily and Shane Warne won the man of the match award. Australia became the second team ever to win two World Cup trophies.

2003- Australia vs India, Winner- Australia

Australia was made to bat first and that was the main changing factor in the game. They started wonderfully and played some glorious cricketing shorts. Both Gilchrist and Hayden put up a century partnership. Once Ricky Ponting came to bat, things got even worse for India. He scored an unbeaten 140 runs and helped the team to put a massive total of 359 runs.

India's batting disaster was very painful to watch. Apart from Sehwag, none of the batsmen could score a half century. India were all-out for 234 runs and Australia won the world cup by a huge margin of 125 runs.

2007- Australia vs Sri Lanka, Winner- Australia

Both the teams have played against each other in the 1996 World Cup. It was thus one of the most anticipated finals over the years. Australia batted first and put a fighting total of 281/8. Gilchrist scored an outstanding century and gave Australia the early advantage.

In return, Sri Lankan batsmen failed to deliver and only Jayasuriya and Sangakkara showed resilience. Sri Lanka scored 215/8 after rain interrupted the contest. As per the D/L method, Sri Lanka was marginally short of the target and thus Australia lifted the trophy for the forth time.

2011- India vs Sri Lanka, Winner- India

It was for the first time, these two teams had a face-off in the final's of the World Cup. Sri Lankan batsmen had a slow start, as Indian fielders were exceptionally brilliant on the field. Mahela Jayawardene however showed his class and displayed a wonderful batting performance on the field. He scored a century and helped Sri Lanka post a competitive total of 274 runs.

India lost Sehwag and Tendulkar early, but Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni played the ball superbly. They both scored 90 plus runs and missed the century by a few runs. Dhoni hit a six in the last ball and it helped India to lift the World Cup after 28 long years of waiting.

2015- Australia vs New Zealand, Winner- Australia

It was New Zealand's first appearance on a world cup final. They got to bat first but their batting collapse was a disastrous sight to watch. Elliott scored 83 runs and it just helped them to score a total of 183 runs.

It was a piece of cake for a mighty Australian batting line-up to chase. Smith and Clarke scored half centuries each and thus they won the match with 7 wickets to spare. It was Australia's fifth world cup victory and is the highest by any team till date.